Institutional Betrayal: Jessica Luther on Josh Brown, College Football and the Politics of Rape

Oct 26, 2016, 08:00 AM

In a week dominated by stories about former New York Giants place kicker Josh Brown and the NFL's continual coverup of domestic violence, we speak to Jessica Luther, author of the book “Unsportsmanlike Conduct: College Football and the Politics of Rape.” This week I also have some choice words of my own about the Giants’ shameful handling of the Josh Brown incident and why Roger Goodell should, in my opinion, no longer be employed. Lastly, the ‘Just Stand Up’ award goes to Denasia Lawrence, a National Anthem singer with a purpose.Jessica Luther: http://jessicawluther.com | https://twitter.com/scATX Unsportsmanlike Conduct: College Football and the Politics of Rape http://www.akashicbooks.com/catalog/unsportsmanlike-conduct/Zirin column, ‘Another Shocking Domestic Violence Case Is Rocking the NFL’ https://www.thenation.com/article/another-shocking-domestic-violence-case-is-rocking-the-nfl—http://www.edgeofsportspodcast.com | http://twitter.com/edgeofsports | http://fb.com/edgeofsportspod | email us: edgeofsports@slate.com | Edge of Sports hotline: 401-428-3343 (EDGE)—music: “Safe From Harm” - Massive Attack http://massiveattack.co.uk | “U.N.I.T.Y.” - Queen Latifah http://queenlatifah.com (Kay Gee & Mufi production) | “FML” - Kanye West http://www.kanyewest.com (Erik Giovani remake https://soundcloud.com/erikgiovani) | “Warning” - Notorious B.I.G.  (Easy Mo Bee production) | “All the Way Up” - Fat Joe & Remy Ma (Edsclusive Cool & Dre production) | “Basketball” - Kurtis Blow (J.B. Moore & Robert Ford Jr. production)