Jackie Kennedy Onassis, love of podcasts and Beyoncé and Jay-Z’s ‘Apesh*t' video

Aug 08, 2018, 06:30 AM

In episode 12, we talk about loss, listening and race. Our three figures are Jackie Kennedy Onassis, that there have been over 50 billion all-time downloads on Apple Podcasts and ‘Apesh*t’ by The Carters.

www.instagram.com/figurepodcast/

www.twitter.com/FigurePodcast/

thefigurepodcast@gmail.com

Kyan

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tuKOCLM85y0

The Daily: Roe v. Wade, Part 1: Who Was Jane Roe? & Part 2: The Culture Wars

https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/the-daily/id1200361736

Beyoncé in Her Own Words: Her Life, Her Body, Her Heritage

https://www.vogue.com/article/beyonce-september-issue-2018

How to Fail: Dolly Alderton, presented by Elizabeth Day

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/how-to-fail-with-elizabeth-day/id1407451189?mt=2

Figure 1: Jackie Kennedy Onassis

The History Chicks: Jackie Kennedy Onassis

https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/the-history-chicks/id415983183?mt=2

The Kennedy’s (2011)

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1567215/

Natalie Portman is Jackie Kennedy, Hermione Hoby

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/natalie-is-jackie-sq0g29ssb

Jackie (2016)

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1619029/

The Crown: Dear Mrs Kennedy (Season 2, episode 8)

https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6410770/

Figure 2: Over 50 billion all-time downloads on Apple Podcasts

Apple’s podcasts just topped 50 billion all-time downloads and streams

https://www.fastcompany.com/40563318/apples-podcasts-just-topped-50-billion-all-time-downloads-and-streams

2018 Podcast Stats & Facts

https://www.podcastinsights.com/podcast-statistics/

Talking Tastebuds: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/talking-tastebuds/id1287395967?mt=2

Mad World: https://bryonysmadworld.telegraph.co.uk/

Get it off your breasts: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/get-it-off-your-breasts/id1280870020?mt=2

The Guilty Feminist: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/the-guilty-feminist/id1068940771?mt=2

The Week Unwrapped: https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/the-week-unwrapped-with-olly-mann/id1185494669?mt=2

The High Low: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/the-high-low/id1211338187?mt=2

Love Stories: https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/love-stories/id1343714594?mt=2

Late Night Woman’s Hour: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/late-night-womans-hour/id1316085230?mt=2

Happy Mum, Happy Baby: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/happy-mum-happy-baby/id1277078956?mt=2

Supersoul Conversations: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/oprahs-supersoul-conversations/id1264843400?mt=2

Fresh Air: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/fresh-air/id214089682?mt=2

Guys We F****d: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/guys-we-f-d/id885960517?mt=2

Happy Place: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/happy-place/id1353058891?mt=2

FinTech Insiders: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/fintech-insider-by-11-fs/id1134439359?mt=2

Great Leap Years: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/stephen-frys-great-leap-years/id1365035136?mt=2

Figure 3: ‘Apesh*t’ by The Carters

Beyoncé and Jay-Z’s New Vision of Gender in ‘Apeshit’, Taylor Hosking

https://www.theatlantic.com/entertainment/archive/2018/06/beyonce-and-jay-zs-new-way-of-looking-at-gender/563360/

A guide to Beyoncé and Jay-Z’s new video: from the Mona Lisa to 'living lavish', Bidisha

https://www.theguardian.com/music/shortcuts/2018/jun/18/shortcuts-beyonce-jay-z-apeshit

Crazy in Louvre: How Beyoncé and Jay-Z Exploit Western Art History to Ask Who Controls Black Bodies, James Smalls

https://frieze.com/article/crazy-louvre-how-beyonce-and-jay-z-exploit-western-art-history-ask-who-controls-black-bodies

TED talk: Can art amend history? Titus Kaphar

https://www.ted.com/talks/tituskapharcanartamend_history

Brit(ish), Afua Hirsch (2018)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Brit-ish-Race-Identity-Belonging/dp/1911214284

The views expressed in this podcast are our own and not those of the firms we work for.