Don’t call it ‘cheating’

Nov 07, 2019, 07:55 PM
Christina Kim acted properly on her responsibility to protect the field in raising a rules issue in a recent LPGA tournament, but she did it in "the wrong way,” Morning Reads Alex Miceli says. He talks with European Tour chief referee John Paramor, who cautions not to label the infraction as “cheating.” That implies intent; this was yet another misdeed via simple ignorance of the rules, Paramor contends. Austria’s Matthias Schwab, a second-year European Tour pro, talks about the differences between U.S. college golf and the professional game. He dissects his putting troubles simply: “They don’t go in enough."