Ujamaa Place 10th Anniversary Celebration & Awards 2020

Jan 03, 06:49 PM
#Ujamaa10Forward #TheoryofTransformation #UjamaaPlace
It is a great honor to celebrate all Ujamaa men, their families and the beloved communities we serve. May we continue to unite as a community to love and take care of one another in the spirit of our ancestors that came before us. 

The 10-year anniversary celebrations began in January.   However, the scheduled in-person festivities were postponed in light of COVID-19 and the awakening of racial injustice, until we gathered safely in August for a drive-in tribute to the honorable Congressman John Lewis and pre- screening of his film Good Trouble. Since then, we have witnessed our community come together to fight against the spread of COVID-19, evidence that we are stronger together.

Congratulations to all the honorees:
Founding Fathers Recognition: Rick Heydinger (RIP), John Harrington, Bill Sands and Bill Svrluga
Ujamaa Legacy Award: Commissioner John Harrington
Rick Heydinger Community Partner Award: Jane & Paul Tshida
Rick Heydinger Community Organization of the Year Award: Kathleen Fluegel of HRK Foundation
Rudy Coach of the Year Award: Darnell Baker
Ujamaa Excellence Award: Stephenson Morgan
Ujamaa Man of the Year Award: Stephan Francis
Ujamaa Man of the Month Recognition: 
Kevin Berry
Dalyn Doyle
Stephan Francis
Rajonta Jackson
Devon Frand
Justin Langley
Damontay Mathew
Lathen McKinney
Kavon McNeal
Devonne Tinsley
Joshua Napier
Dakai Saunders
Keonee Schaffer-Frazier
Wesley Sims
Damontay Shriver