Bonus: The Killing of Fr Niall Molloy

Sep 10, 11:49 AM


In the course of researching the assassination of Veronica Guerin, I came across the mention of files stolen from the offices of the Director of Public Prosecution by Martin Cahill (The General) and his gang. John Traynor told reporter Paul Williams that one in particular, the file relating to the investigation of the death of Fr Niall Molloy, was used in a trade to get him out of charges for receiving stolen goods.

Why in the world was this file so important? I had to know. And so this week, we have the bizarre tale of the unsolved murder of Father Niall Molloy. Fr Molloy was murdered in the home of his friends and business associates, the Flynn's, in the summer of July 1985, a day after the wedding of one of the daughters.

No one has ever been convicted of his murder.

Find the new RTE documentary on Fr Niall's death here   (#notanad)

*********

Join me at CrimeCon UK on September 25th & 26th 2021. For more information and tickets visit  crimecon.co.uk. Use the code MENSREA for 10% off. Purchase a ticket with the code and get in touch to get a free Mens Rea T-Shirt (limited to first 10 listeners who contact me)

**********

With thanks to our sponsors for this episode:
Try the casual mobile puzzle game Best Fiends today! Find it on the Apple App store and Google Play!

*********

Find us on Facebook or Twitter!

With thanks to our supporters on Patreon! Donate today to get access to bonus and ad-free episodes!

Check out the Mens Rea Merch Store!

*********

Theme Music:

Quinn’s Song: The Dance Begins Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com) Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

Additional Music:   Allemande (Sting) by Wahneta Meixsell. Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/

*********

Sources:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=atyrR3jxEtA  - Today, tonight, RTE, 1987

Maresa Fagan, Fr Niall Molloy: “Truth out there' as chapter in unsolved death closes” in The Irish Times https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/fr-niall-molloy-truth-out-there-as-chapter-in-unsolved-death-closes-1.2989386 25 February 2017

Gemma O'Doherty, “Truth about FR Molloy's murder will rock the State” in The Sunday Independent https://www.independent.ie/opinion/analysis/gemma-odoherty-truth-about-fr-molloys-murder-will-rock-the-state-28904708.html 22 November 2012

'On the day of his death, Fr Niall said he was dreading going over to the Flynns” in The Irish Independent https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/on-the-day-of-his-death-fr-niall-said-he-was-dreading-going-over-to-the-flynns-26692151.html 23 October 2010

Paul Reynolds, “GSOC critical of failure to keep Molloy documents” in RTE NEWS  https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2018/0709/977506-fr-niall-molloy/ 10 July 2018

Aoife Barry  “Call for judicial inquiry into death of Fr Niall Molloy” in TheJournal.ie http://www.thejournal.ie/judicial-inquiry-fr-niall-molloy-692242-Nov2012/ 27 November 2012

Colin Maher, “Who Rid Them of this Troublesome Priest?” in Broadsheet.ie https://www.broadsheet.ie/2013/08/23/the-troublesome-priest/ 23 August 2013

Michael Clifford, “Why was a priest killed in a couple's bedroom at an unholy hour?” in The Irish Examiner https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/views/analysis/why-was-a-priest-killed-in-a-couples-bedroom-at-an-unholy-hour-855138.html  14 July 2018

Eavan Murray, “'I know who murdered my uncle' : Probe into Fr Niall Molloy's death” in The Sun https://www.thesun.ie/archives/irish-news/25065/i-know-who-murdered-my-uncle/ 11 April 2015

David Langwallner, “Law is Boring – Trials are Fun” in The Village Magazine https://villagemagazine.ie/index.php/2016/11/law-is-boring/ 19 November 2016

"Bodger", “It became apparent many original documents,  including exhibits, are missing” in Broadsheet.ie https://www.broadsheet.ie/tag/fr-niall-molloy/ 9 July 2018