Why did Tory rebels abstain from the NI Protocol Bill?

Jun 28, 12:41 PM

The Northern Ireland Protocol Bill passed its second reading last night with a majority of 74 votes. A number of Tory rebels voiced their opposition to the bill including former Prime Minister, Theresa May, Simon Hoare and Andrew Mitchell. However, despite vocal opposition, not one Tory MP voted against the bill – opting to abstain instead. Did the Whips office play a part in this?

Also on the podcast, Nicola Sturgeon unveils her plans to have a second independence referendum, with or without Boris Johnson’s consent. What chance has she got?

Katy Balls is joined by Isabel Hardman and James Forysth.