THE POACHER'S DAUGHTER: 'Queen of Saga' Margaret Dickinson chats about her 30th book

May 02, 2023, 10:16 AM

‘The Queen of Saga’ Margaret Dickinson, a Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author, here talks to Graham Walker about her heartwarming page-turner The Poacher’s Daughter - her 30th novel for publishers Pan MacMillan.
This pearl landmark is the latest chapter in an impressive literary career which includes fan favourites Plough the Furrow, Sow the Seed and Reap the Harvest, which make up her Lincolnshire Fleethaven trilogy. She is also the author of The Buffer Girls, and its sequel, Daughters of Courage.
The Poacher’s Daughter, which begins in 1910 in the Lincolnshire Wolds, tells the story of young Rosie Waterhouse, the local poacher's daughter, and the secret friendship which blossoms with Byron Ramsey, son of the a harsh and heartless landowner.
Despite vastly different backgrounds, they are destined to be together. but the threat of war becomes a reality and Life will never be the same.
Margaret tells why her books are set during the First and Second World Wars, featuring strong, female characters  in areas that she knows well - Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire and South Yorkshire.
She also exclusively reveals details of her next book - which will be set in Sheffield.
The Poacher's Daughter:
Price: Paperback £7.99; EBook £6.99
Publication Date: May 11, 2023
Pages: 432 pages
ISBN:  9781529077964
Out now in hardback: Buy in all formats and find out more at