The Sync Report | John Malkin

Season 3, Episode 9,   Oct 06, 2022, 07:00 AM

In this week’s podcast we speak to John Malkin, Executive Vice President of Content Distribution at Ovation TV.

First, we hear about John’s love of music and how learning drums then guitar in his childhood set him up on his music journey, which since 2019 includes singing and playing guitar for his band The Simple Radicals. Find out why, when he was a kid, his parents never came to see his band live and how his band became one of Chicago’s best covers band.

Find out how Johns’ podcast MUSIC & A BREW was born and evolved, with guests including Mark Farmer from Grand Funk Railroad.

Hear what it was like to work at MTV at its peak as well as working on the launch of Comedy Central, hanging out with comedians such as John Stewart. Hear about John’s encounter with Chad Smith of the Red Hot Chilli Peppers at the MTV awards aftershow party? And what was Colin doing at the MTV EMA’s in Dublin?

Find out why John left MTV to go and work for Fox news! And how the network was a different place back then. Hear what John thinks was his greatest achievement at Fox New and why it’s important to watch a balanced amount of news from different sources. Then how did John land a role at the NFL and what spurred him to move on to work with Ovation after six years.

Hear what is happening in arts and culture on Ovation TV and how excited John is about upcoming projects.

In this week’s sync session we talk to filmmakers Chris Rolfe and Tricia Jackson about their upcoming movie The Boys of 742, based on the the life of Matt Gideon and his friends as they succumb to and then overcome drug addiction;  a story of hope and recovery. Then we listen to music submissions from our audience hoping to have their music placed in the film.

John Malkin

Music is the difference between a good film and a great one.


Songs included in this episode are:
Rocky Mountain High by John Denver 
Spirit of Radio by Rush 
I’m your Captain (Closer to Home) by Grand Funk Railroad 
Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana 
New Revolution by The Simple Radicals

Featuring:  Chris Rolfe - Tricia Jackson - Matt Gideon – Heather Ragnars -
Jodylynn Talevi

As Night Falls by Todd Bordonaro
Walk On by Native Sunz
Live as One by Zac Ware 

2 Sense  Music presents The Sync Report, where you will meet industry experts and top level songwriters as we pull the curtain back on music placement and scores, build vital relationships and provide real opportunities to our listeners. Listen to indie filmmakers present their latest productions and describe specific scenes as they consider music submitted by our audience.

Please tell your friends about us, and remember to rate, comment, & subscribe to us on Apple Podcasts and across all platforms. 

And find us at The Sync Report here

The Sync Report podcast is: 
Hosted By: Colin O’Donoghue - Rose Ganguzza - Jason P. Rothberg

Featuring: Kevin Sharpley - Paula Flack and Willow - Milfredo Seven - Phill Mason – Jodylynn Talevi – Lisa Dunn

Produced By: Jason P. Rothberg - Paula Flack - Robert Cappadona - Kevin Sharpley

Executive Producers: Colin O’Donoghue - Rose Ganguzza - Jason P. Rothberg - Kevin Sharpley - Gianfranco Bianchi - Dean Lyon

Writers: Jason P. Rothberg - Lisa Dunn - Paula Flack

Editors: Jason P. Rothberg - Milfredo Seven - Paula Flack - Edgar “Edge” Camey - Adam McNamara

Marketing Director: Paula Flack

Music Supervisors: Phill Mason

Music Department: Heather Ragnars - Lisa Dunn

Foley: Phill Mason

Research: Lisa Dunn

Art Director: Gianfranco Bianchi

Graphic Design: Jodylynn Talevi

College Programs: Dr Stacy Montgomery

College interns: Angela Nicastro – Drift – Princess Arga – Sean Jeon